Wrapping Up The Year With 12 Posts You May Have Missed

Screen Shot 2016-12-29 at 10.18.04 AM.png

freeimages.com/bekahrichards

As 2016 comes to a close this week, it’s natural to find yourself looking back over the year and taking stock of what you accomplished, what was good and bad about the year we’re leaving behind, and what you are looking forward to and hoping to achieve in the year ahead.

When I started this blog in January of this year, my first post was about how I stopped making New Year’s resolutions, and shifted instead to setting an intention for the year, a sort of guiding principle or framework for the year to come. My intention for 2016 was to heal. That intention played out in several ways, from continuing my work to help clients reduce stress and rehabilitate injuries, to working to guide friends through their own versions of healing, to allowing myself to pull back and slow down when my life started to feel too overwhelming. I am proud of what I was able to achieve this year, and excited for what next year brings as I welcome a baby into my life, but I also find that reflecting on 2016 leaves me feeling quite sad. A lot of bad news came out of this year, and given the current political climate, I can’t help but feel anxious about the year to come, and an uncertain future in a very unpredictable world. I haven’t settled on an intention for 2017 yet, though I will soon and will be writing about that next week. But in the meantime, I leave you with this thought: a year is not enough time to achieve everything that feels important and meaningful for us. I doubt even a lifetime is lengthy enough to reach that goal. Be mindful of your failures and your hardships, but don’t afford them unequal weight that lets them tip the scales of your year. Moments of success and happiness, however small, should not be ignored. They are what keep us moving forward and allow us to say “next year will be better,” because we know what better looks like. If 2016 was a hard year for you, celebrate having made it through–that’s no small accomplishment. If it was a great year for you, bask in it and allow your accomplishments to propel you optimistically into the year ahead. None of us know what 2017 will bring to our lives and the world around us, but I wish everyone reading this health, happiness, and healing for the year ahead.

Have a Happy New Year, and enjoy these 12 posts you may have missed for More Well in 2016. See you all on the other side.

Learning to Relax

Tips, Tricks & Helpful Hints for Fighting Seasonal Sadness

Stretches For Reducing Back Pain and Stiffness

What To Expect From Your First Massage

How To Help A New Mom

Three Keys To Reducing Relationship Distress

An App For Anxiety

Making Mindfulness Your Own

Practice Better Breathing

A (Perhaps Too Honest) Portrait of Living With Depression

Managing Wedding Planning Stress

First Trimester Insights

Leave a Reply

